Francis Thompson.

I went into Preston on the 8th of Feb to try and find an installation focused on the empty buildings dotted around the newest city in the UK. Unfortunately I didn’t find the installation but I found a bust of a poet from Preston at the Harris Museum.

Francis Thompson was born in Preston in 1859 and moved down South in the 1880’s where he became addicted to opium, his eventual demise was tuberculosis in 1907.

Instead of researching him further I thought it best to buy a copy of his collected poems for reading over the weekend I go to Scotland to try and find a poem suitable for pairing up with my chosen subject matter for my uni brief.

If I find a suitable poem I will do my best to find out more about Francis Thompson and use the book, if it has some biographical insights, to help make clear a link between his work and mine.

