Fuji FP-100C Negative Retrieval.

After today’s group tutorial, Andy showed off his Fuji GX680, and asked if we wanted to play with some instant film since he said he was selling it; I think he wanted to play with it one last time as well.

After we played in the studio and Andy fired off a couple frames of each of us he told me the peel apart contained a negative, I knew the FP-3000B had a negative but wasn’t sure about the FP-100C because it wasn’t as shiny so it was a bit harder to see. He told me to google bleaching the back to get a scannable negative, so as soon as I got home I did.

I went to old faithful YouTube to search for a working method to retrieve the negative and after watching one video on mute I went about doing it a less labour intensive way.

Firstly the back of the negative was placed on a piece of glass and secured with double sided tape: I only have double sided in the house otherwise I’d have used regular tape.
20130418-230612.jpg

Once I had secured the three negatives to the glass…
20130418-230722.jpg

I decided to test my method on a picture of me. Prior to taking it home I scratched it a little so I thought I’d use it as a guinea pig so the other two weren’t sacrificed just in case I got it wrong. I poured the bleach on and spread it around as the video showed and left it for 30 seconds.
20130418-231127.jpg

But instead of wiping the bleach off with a towel or kitchen roll I simply rinsed the negative under a hot tap, it removed all of the bleach and made everything much easier.
20130418-231437.jpg

After my mug shot came out unscathed I treated the other two exactly the same…
20130418-232447.jpg

Then hung them to dry.
20130418-232603.jpg

The only downside to not having regular tape in to house is the clean up of the glass plate after.
20130418-232814.jpg It took a little longer than expected, but I left them under the hot tap for a bit and the tape just melted away.

So now I have three scannable negatives from a quick studio session to play with tomorrow. I don’t think I’ll share the scanned neg of my good self but I’ll scan and share this negative of Tom.
20130418-233059.jpg It looks overexposed, a bit dense and dark, but the positive looks to have the correct exposure so I’m happy with it. And it’s just a play anyway.

I thought after I finished with the bleach that the whole process sort of felt like prepping wet plates prior to sensitising them; trying to get the bleach into every corner of the plate without touching the top side. (I had to gently move the bleach around with some kitchen towel though, bleach is a lot thicker than silver nitrate, but you get the idea.)

