Project Progress.

I exposed 8 sheets on Saturday to contribute to my latest project; Kånna. It was my second trip to Beacon Fell but the first time with my 5×4. For some reason the bag, fully laden, didn’t feel as heavy as when I took it to Scotland, so it didn’t feel like a chore which made for a pleasant surprise.

I tried to meter so the resultant negatives were less contrasty compared to my usual shots, and some of them worked. Although it’s not a great set of contact sheets since I used cheap RC paper I bought last year at Focus and rushed the whole process, not testing just giving roughly 6-8 seconds per piece of paper.
20130429-202406.jpgI threw in the contact prints of the flowers I did earlier last week purely because I don’t like the number 3. At least they came out good with being rushed.

This is how I’m going to exhibit the project too, individual contact prints. “There’s this emphasis on big prints, but people don’t actually look at the image if it’s massive, they just admire the scale and move on. They don’t take the time to see the images content, so if you print small the images get looked at because they draw the viewer into an intimate space and they connect to the images. Unless your images are shite!” – Sean, college tutor.

Some of you will be wandering what Kånna is I assume; or I hope. It means “explore” in Old Norse, after researching the Forest of Bowland’s history I found out it got its name from Boga; Old Norse for “bend in a river.” This put me on a little research mission to find a title for my project in Old Norse, it’s pertinent to use Old Norse because Beacon Fell is in the Forest of Bowland and it ties in nicely to the history of the AONB: Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

