Kånna Exhibition Text.

For our end of year show we were asked to draw up a simple diagram of where we’d like to put our images, I drew a layout and it was rejected in a way because the space I wanted to put up in wasn’t being used, not a massive deal, I only had to change one measurement.

This is my revised exhibition layout:20130522-220840.jpg

There are only a couple of things left to do; print the final 5 images, pick up the frames, cut the window mounts, order some more business cards and spray mount the text to go with my images.

The text to go with the images will be as follows;

Kånna.

This series of photographs are the result of an inquest into inquest.

On a day trip to Beacon Fell I had planned to photograph the vistas and try to convey the reason why the fell has been used as a beacon point since as early as 1002AD.

But with poor visibility and no sight of the rain letting up I walked into the forest areas to explore the area. Whilst walking on the designated path I kept seeing smaller paths not wide enough for adults to traverse. I kept seeing them and became intrigued and soon realised they were tracks created by deer and other animals looking for food.

I went back a week later when the weather was better and started to photograph the trails, it was during my very first exposure I saw a lone child no older than 6 running directly at me following the track. At this moment the project turned into a documentation of the curiosity of children when they are allowed to wander off the beaten path.

I like the idea that a child has a greater sense of exploration than most adults, I was similar, running off ahead to see what is over the horizon. I’d imagine scenarios and carry on going in the hope my imagination would turn to reality. Never disappointed if the scenario didn’t come to fruition because I was free to explore as I wanted.

The project title comes from the Old Norse word for “explore,” I came to this through researching the history of Bowland Forest, which Beacon Fell is a part of. The origins of the word Bowland comes from Boga, which is Old Norse for “bend in a river.” Since the origins of Bowland Forest are of Scandinavian descent I found it fitting to use Old Norse for the project title as it ties in nicely to the history of this AONB: Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

