One Year On.

So it’s my first anniversary, in a way. I’ve been shooting with View Cameras for a year and this is how I know.20130726-173700.jpgThis was the subject matter of my first sheet film photograph last year.

Back then I didn’t have a clue on what to do, I didn’t know how to even focus the lens, bellows were an alien concept and loading double dark slides was chaos, fumbling about trying to slide a sheet of film in. But now, it’s all second nature. Scheimpflug isn’t thought of, it just happens and the Zone System is always used. I can’t think of not using it now, that seems alien.

This is my first 16×20 print, of the first neg.20130726-180729.jpgI will try not to use an L-208 to meter a scene for a View Camera unless both spot meters fail. It’s lacking in contrast, for my tastes, but it’s still a nice photo.

I’ve been shooting for about 7 years in total now, and View Cameras are the only thing I haven’t grown tired of. I don’t think I’ll go up to 8×10, my pack weighs enough as it is on trails but I can see myself shooting 5×4 until either my back gives, I can’t get chemicals or it becomes illegal to buy acetic acid.

