Helmut Newton Retrospective.

During my brief trip to the American west coast I stayed in LA for 4 days, most of which was spent on open top tour buses bimbling around Beverly Hills and West Hollywood listening to painful audio tours, but on my last day I went to The Annenberg Space for Photography to see the Helmut Newton retrospective titled: “White Women, Sleepless Nights, Big Nudes.”20131220-215651.jpg

It was a quality show, incredibly insightful. I got to watch a few videos and documentaries about his life and work and I even looked at the Jane Newton revised edition of SUMO which was pretty cool. Unfortunately the image below is not an image of the book, photography was prohibited inside the venue.20131220-215659.jpg

But I did steal a quick shot of the interior whilst there weren’t any security guards where I was sitting, hence the rubbish focus.20131220-215710.jpg

I wish I could see shows like this more often but galleries and exhibition spaces dedicated to photography are by and large a sizeable train journey away which makes seeing work as it is originally intended rather difficult. At least I can say I’ve seen a Helmut Newton show in the flesh.

