Pyro The Dragon.

As long as I’ve been using view cameras I’ve heard about Pyro developers. I wasn’t as interested at first but over the past 5-6 months I’ve done a lot of reading about it and after seeing how cheap it is to mix yourself I’ve decided to commit to it and buy the raw chemicals for Pyrocat-HD. Since Sandy King has stated on various forums that it’s actually easier, and more stable, to mix the ‘A’ solution in Propylene Glycol I’ve opted to do this first: people usually migrate to Glycol after a year or two so I’m just jumping the gun a bit.

I’ll probably share my personal test results but I’m not going to go down the sensitometry route, I’m not interested in that, nor do I have the time for it.

Up until now I’ve only ordered the chemicals, but I can’t wait to start experimenting with a completely new film/developer combo. The new film I’ll be using with the Pyrocat is the new Adox CHS 100 II from FOTOIMPEX in Germany.20140119-222629.jpg

Pyro might not be anything new to the world of photography but it’s new to me and I can’t wait.

