Matchbox Pinhole Workshop.

Early last week, Sophie asked me to cover a workshop she was supposed to facilitate last Saturday; I might have done a lot for this exhibition but who am I to say no to the one person who pretty much guided me through this whole curatorial adventure.

The workshop was making matchbox pinhole cameras with a first year uni student called Yves Leather. He told us why pinhole cameras mean a lot to him and how they create tangible pieces that we can manually manipulate and print from (I could feel myself nodding to a lot of what he was saying, tangibility is big thing for me).

I didn’t photograph every step as I was having quite a lot of fun, but I got a couple photos of the process which should be enough.

We started with empty matchboxes and followed Yves’ lead, he got us to cut out the bottom of the tray (the innards of the matchbox) and we coloured them black with permanent markers.IMG_0120Yves had an ingenious solution to making sure frames don’t overlap/overlap as much. He cut a loop from a spiral bind spine and glued it in line with the sprocket holes in the film so every wind creates an audible click, 12 clicks equals a blank frame with, we hope, no overlap.

After that we covered the cameras in black electricians tape to seal it and we made the basic shutter to finish off the camera. Yves even made a basic exposure guide for us to use, which I’m sure will come in handy.

This is my end result. Although I’ve made pinhole cameras in the past, they left a lot to be desired. I’ll have to see how this one comes out.IMG_0123Although the group of attendees was small, we all had a lot of fun, it was a successful workshop and I hope Yves’ next workshop is just as successful.

